Tuks Sport

Returning to Rio: more UP athletes looking to impress.

The Rio Paralympic games will be underway from 7-18 September. Two of the 45 South African athletes are UP representatives. The star-studded squad will be representing the country in ten different sporting codes, which include archery, athletics, canoeing, cycling, equestrian, power lifting, rowing, swimming, shooting, and tennis.

UP swimmer Emily Gray made the Paralympic squad after a competitive campaign to qualify alongside Shireen Sapiro and Alani Ferreira. The 25-year-old Gray will be competing in the 100 m backstroke. Gray competed in two previous Paralympics and will be relying on her experience to further her advances. The swimmer has been an inspiration to many, with standout performances after an amputation at 12 following a diagnosis of bone cancer.

Read more: Returning to Rio: more UP athletes looking to impress.

TuksChess host the inaugural Open Rated Tournament

TuksChess hosted their first ever Open Rated Tournament since the sports re-establishment in 2010 on the weekend of 19 and 20 August. The tournament was hosted at the Groenkloof Campus Sports Hall and 85 players participated. Participants came from Tshwane, Johannesburg and Potchefstroom.

The winners of Section C were mainly TuksChess Junior players with Kayleigh Weideman taking first place, followed by Keanan Fouries and Yoshua Smit. The Section B winners were Gerhardus Bekker, David Lubbe and Daniel Wohlfarht. The winners of Section A were Daniel Jere, Roland Bezuidenhout and Johannes Mabusela, while Jacqui Grobbelaar was awarded the prize for Best Lady.

Read more: TuksChess host the inaugural Open Rated Tournament

Carlton Cup frenzy

On Saturday 13 August 12 teams gathered at Loftus Versveld to compete in the annual Carlton Cup finals. It was a day to savour for Pretoria rugby fans, with six matches played and three champions crowned on the day. Three of the finalists were UP-affiliated teams: Tuks u/20, Tuks u/21, and Tuks-Fezelas.

The UP-Tuks first team was unfortunate not to participate in the finals, having beaten Naka Bulls 60-41 in the semi-finals. Tuks-1 would have played against Centurion-1 in the final, but technical rules prohibited the student team from partaking. The rules of the Carlton Cup state that each participating player must have played at least three matches for their respective club prior to a semi-final or final appearance. There is also a cut-off date for registration of new players. Tuks-1 did not adhere to these stipulations and therefore missed out on the final.

Read more: Carlton Cup frenzy

Varsity Football at a glance

UP-Tuks started the 2016 Varsity Football season with one win and two draws out of the first five games of the season. At the time of going to print, UP sat fourth on the Varsity Football log with five points, with the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) leading.

In their season opener UP faced a tough match as they played title holders the University of Western Cape (UWC) in Cape Town. Despite taking the lead in the 8 th minute with a goal from Mogau Khuwinana, UP struggled in the second half and conceded a goal to UWC’s Suhayl Allie. The game ended 1-1, allowing UP to come home with a point.

Read more: Varsity Football at a glance

Carina Horn can


Road to Rio
Carina Horn is currently the undisputed national 100 m sprint champion. She is considered one of the best 100 m women that the country has produced alongside names like Evette de Kerk and Geraldine Pillay. Horn achieved a personal best time of 11.06ls in the World Challenge Meeting in July last year in Madrid, equalling the 25-year old South African record. The 27- year old Horn is experienced internationally and competed up to the semi-finals in the World Championships in Beijing last year. Last month her name stood out at the Diamond League in Monaco after she was the women with the fastest start and went on to achieve third place in a time of 11.14 s. Breakthrough came for the athlete five years ago when she decided to travel to Austria to work under the guidance of mentor and coach Rainer Schopf after which her 100 m sprinting time improved by 0.53 s.

Read more: Carina Horn can

Flip Through Perdeby

Perdeby Poll

Will you be attending OppiKoppi this year?

I don't trust the dust, even if there are Mangoes - 59.3%
Oppi is an institution, I wouldn't miss it for the world - 25.9%
But daisies though... - 14.8%

Video Gallery