TuksSport host 2017 Colours and Awards


TuksSport held its official Colours and Awards ceremony at the Rembrandt Hall on LC de Villiers Sports Campus on 18 October. The event celebrated TuksSport’s unprecedented sporting success this year and honoured 368 athletes and their achievements.

Rower Kirsten McCann and 100m sprinter Akani Simbine won the main awards of the night as they were named Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year respectively.

Olympian rower McCann started off her spectacular year by winning gold at the SA Senior Champions in the Women’s Heavyweight Scull in April. She continued her winning streak by claiming gold at the World Rowing Cup III in Switzerland. McCann’s biggest success came in September when she won gold at the World Rowing Championships where she made history by becoming the first South African and African female rower to win an individual world title.

Simbine, another Olympian, and recent Bachelor of Information Science graduate, had a multitude of successes this year. He became the first South African athlete to run a sub-10 seconds in the 100m and a sub-20 seconds in the 200m on the same day at league meeting in March. A few weeks later he won gold at Athletics Gauteng North (AGN) Championship with an astonishing time of 9.92 seconds. At the Diamond League in Doha, he claimed gold. At the Diamond League games in Lausanne and Monaco, Simbine won two bronze medals.

Rowing and hockey were the biggest overall winners of the night. Rower Nicole van Wyk won Student Sportswoman of the Year. TuksRowing’s USSA Team won Sports Team of the Year after becoming the USSA rowing Champions. Furthermore, TuksRowing won Sport Club of the Year. TuksHockey women’s first team coach won Coach of the Year for a Team Sport after coaching his team to Varsity Hockey victory. The Principal’s Award for Exceptional Performance in both Academics and Sport was awarded to TuksHockey’s Izelle Vester. TuksHockey also won the Principal’s Award for Outstanding Performance by a Team Representing the University in Inter-University Competitions.

The 2017 Student Sport Committee Chairperson Boyani Mphasha won Student Sports Administrator of the Year, and the Administrator of the Year was awarded to Paul de Beer for his work with TuksAkido. Assupol TuksCricket’s successful 2017 streak won them the Sports Club of the Year after they won USSA Cricket Tournament. 22 year-old sprinter Thando Roto who ran a personal best of 9.95 seconds this season won Student Sportsman of the Year.


Photo: Reg Caldecott

Flip Through Perdeby

Video Gallery